skip to Main Content

Upstate AHEC is governed by a Board of Directors composed of community members from within the eleven counties served, the Upstate AHEC Center Director, and the Executive Director of SC AHEC. The Board of Directors exercises the powers of the corporation through oversight and policy making.


Katharine Gibb, EdD, MSN, BSN, RN-Interim Chair
Dean, Mary Black Endowed Chair for Nursing
Mary Black School of Nursing

Trudy Messer, PT, OCS, RYT, CKTP, CFMT-Interim Vice Chair
Bon Secours St. Francis Health System

Vicki Anne Smith, MSA-Treasurer
Administrative Services and Organization Development Director
New Horizons Family Health Services, Inc

Nicole Davis, Ph.D., RN-Secretary
Assistant Professor, School of Nursing
Clemson University

David R. Garr, MD- Ex-Officio
Executive Director
SC AHEC Program Office

Alfred Squire – Interim Executive Director
Director – MedEx Academy
Greenville Health System

Back To Top