Skip to content

Upstate AHEC (Area Health Education Center) is a non-profit, community-based organization committed to connecting:

  • Students to health careers
  • Healthcare professionals to communities
  • Communities to better health

Created in 2001 through the merger of Upper Savannah AHEC, Greenville AHEC and Spartanburg AHEC, Upstate AHEC serves eleven counties in South Carolina’s northwestern quadrant:  Abbeville, Anderson, Edgefield, Greenville, Greenwood, Laurens, McCormick, Oconee, Pickens, Saluda, and Spartanburg.  While its services are developed primarily based upon the needs of its home counties, many AHEC programs are also available to organizations and practitioners outside this region. Upstate AHEC is funded through a combination of federal, state, and local dollars.


To build a skilled, diverse healthcare workforce







What: Recruit and prepare under-represented minority and disadvantaged students to enter health professions.
Why: Minority and disadvantaged students are significantly under-represented in South Carolina and the nation. If exposed to opportunities in health professions, these students are more likely to enter the health field.

What: Develop and support community-based interdisciplinary training of health professions students in under-served areas.
Why: Research indicates that students who are exposed to under-served communities are more likely to return to those communities to practice.

What: Provide continuing education and other services to improve the quality of community-based care.
Why: In order to effectively meet the needs of the communities they serve, as well as maintain critical professional licensure and certification, our healthcare workforce requires access to high quality continuing education.


Upstate AHEC serves 11 counties. Health Professional Shortage Areas (HPSAs) within the Upstate region include the entire counties of Abbeville, Anderson, Edgefield, Laurens, McCormick, Oconee, Pickens and Saluda and partial areas of Greenville and Spartanburg.

Medically Underserved Areas (MUAs) within the Upstate region include the entire counties of Edgefield, McCormick and Saluda and partial areas of Abbeville, Anderson, Greenville, Greenwood, Oconee, Pickens and Spartanburg Counties.

Additional information is available about Upstate counties through the links below:


Back To Top